Mountain Railways of India

Mountain railways in India is a collective term for three in the UNESCO list of World Heritage Sites mountain railways in India. It is the Darjeeling Himalayan Railway in Darjeeling, the Kalka-Shimla Railway in the state of Himachal Pradesh (both in the foothills of the Himalayas) and the Nilgiri Mountain Railway in the southern Indian state of Tamil Nadu in Nilgiribergen. All three railways are narrow gauge lines, the end of the 19th Century during the British colonial period were designed to open up to previously be achieved only with difficulty mountain towns. Another similar type of her route, although not a world cultural heritage, the Matheran Hill Railway near Mumbai.

The Darjeeling Himalayan Railway has been since 1999 as an outstanding example of the engineering of the late 19th Century in the list of World Heritage Sites. In 2005, world heritage site was added to the Nilgiri Mountain Railway, followed in 2008, the Kalka-Shimla Railway.

The five Railway systems in India are:

  • Darjeeling Himalayan Railway – 88 kilometres (55 mi)
  • Nilgiri Mountain Railway – 46 kilometres (29 mi)
  • Kalka-Shimla Railway – 95.66 kilometres (59.44 mi)
  • Matheran Hill Railway – 20 kilometres (12 mi)
  • Kangra Valley Railway – 164 kilometres (102 mi)
This entry was posted in Travel to Asia. Bookmark the permalink.